Project 52 – Write Every Week For a Year – Week 3

Prompt for week 3

Time: 18th Aug to 23rd Aug, 2014.

Word limit: 1000 words max.

Pretend you see five different people you know while shopping at the grocery store or a mall. Two are friends, two are former co-workers, and one is your arch-nemesis. You have to introduce each person without giving back-story. What do you talk about? What do you do? How does your handshake and greeting describe your relationship?

Hope to read some good scenes.

Cheers n tc.

Will post mine in a day or two.

Here is my post for the prompt…


15 Minutes

I was driving to the Edmonton Mall, my happy place. It’s my Saturday ritual. I go there religiously not because I am a shopaholic, but to relax and have a lazy day-out. I like to wander about, enjoy the colors of glamour on display in stores, observe different ware on sale, and look at people walking in and out of stores, some people swarming at the food courts looking hungry for greasy food. I also see some happy faces, some beautiful smiles, some glowing eyes, some head-nods of hellos and some verbal reciprocity.

I also read a book, do some writing, do my grocery shopping, and watch kids play. The best part of course is the shark fin soup at Golden Dragon. I can’t wait to have lunch there. I should remember to be at Suzee’s before five for my hair cut.

I was enjoying the glory of a fall day, thus far. I looked at my wrist watch and it said 12.30 P.M. I refreshed the to-do list in my head and stopped with a screeching sound before the red light. ‘Shit. Just in time and inches away from a ticket! I looked at the security camera attached to the traffic-signal-pole. I wish I was living in India. I sighed deep and rolled my window down waiting for the light to turn green.

The signal changed and my wheels turned. I found a parking spot close to the west entrance. There is a reason why my friends call me parking-spot-angel. I smiled and walked into the produce section. I picked up some mushrooms, some capsicum, some carrots, some lettuce, milk, eggs and celery and walked towards the cash register.

As I walked past the ‘beauty products’ isle, I saw them entwined in an embrace oblivious to the world around. I rush of disgust went through me. She broke away and unabashedly introduced him. ‘This is our new PR manager.
‘Nice to meet you’ I murmured.

There was awkward silence. ‘Do you still take your black coffee with a shot of scotch every morning like before?’ Why do I care?‘As a matter of fact she does’ Mr. PR said.

‘Oh Yeah, I should have known.’ Silence again.

‘Okay see you’ I rushed to the billing counter I looked at my watch 1. 30 PM.

                                                       *** 

I was waiting at the counter for my soup to arrive. I was tapping my right foot as I drummed the counter with my car keys. A familiar aroma filled the surroundings. A combo of Lavender Mist and Eternity from Calvin Klein. A gentle hand touched my shoulder.

I turned around. Kathrine was standing there with her eyes wide open. She gave me a hug with a scream and said, ‘Oh, My God. I can’t believe I ran into you. I should have known you’ll be here on Saturdays. She giggled shrugging her shoulders and said, ‘I have good news.’

‘I have news too.’

‘Okay me first. Nothing can be bigger than mine… I am sure.’

‘What is it?’ I asked curiously.

‘I am I am 12 weeks pregnant.’

‘What?’ I asked with overwhelming joy after a bout of disgust just 5 minutes ago.

‘The doctor just confirmed last week and I’ve been trying to reach you since.’

‘Congrats, Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh…’ I screamed jumping up and down hugging her tight. ‘Oh My God! I can’t believe this. After 12 years. This is a miracle.’ I hugged her tight and kissed her cheek. Everyone clapped congratulating her.

She thanked them looking shy.

We sat at the table after both of us calmed down and shad we shared the soup before us. I looked at my watch. It was 1.37 P.M.

I said, ‘Come lets go to Bakers Den and have some Black Currant. My treat. Come…’ I said and dragged her as if I could not wait for the next bout of emotion to run through me.

We got up and reached the entrance of the restraunt and I said, ‘I completely forgot. You won’t believe who I ran into today?’

‘Who?’

‘Office S-l-u-t. I spelled.’

‘Oh my… No… You didn’t. Did you speak to her. Was she with someone new?

‘Yes her new PR manager and the same story again. I am glad I don’t have to put up with her anymore.’

‘Disgusting’ she said aloud and we turned around.

                                                   ***

As we came out we saw him standing right in front of me. I looked at him aghast. Run, screamed my head as I turned into a statue of ice – white, cold and mute. He wore his usual dis-compassionate look along with his signature – bitter smile.

I could hear my heart pounding even in the hubbub of the mall. He stretched his hand and said, ‘Hi, it is so good to see you.’

‘Yes.’ I searched for the right words. My vocabulary failed to assist me. I stretched my trembling hand as slowly as I could and tried to smile stealing gazes away from him. He held my hand ever so gently. The touch said – I learnt my lesson.

Right at the moment a deep sense of humiliation, anger, frustration, love, guilt and compassion went through me and flooded my cheeks with streams of tears. They brought every emotion to the fore along their journey.

I withdrew my hand like I had been electrocuted and even before he could say a word I turned around trying to sprint to the nearest washroom to puke and then cry my guts out. I looked at my watch it showed 1.42 P.M.

Just then, I heard O.S’s voice say, ‘There you are. I was looking for you’ and came closer to him and kissed him passionately on his lips.

I turned around. He broke away from her and said, ‘Meet my wife Laavanya.’

Kathy and I broke out into bouts of laughter leaving everyone wondering. I looked at my watch and it showed 1.45 P.M.

                                                     *** 

(977 words).

This entry was posted in Project 52 -Write Every Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project 52 – Write Every Week For a Year – Week 3

  1. ushaveera68 says:

    Thanks PercyKerry for the visit and the comment. I am just beginning the journey. Long ways to go and I am learning every day with help from friends like you. Will take a look at the language.
    Cheers and tc.
    Usha

    Like

  2. I liked the plot twist. But the language could have been a little better-more taut and evocative. But then we’re here to improve anyway, so kudos to the writers who better their craft by practicing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts: Just Say It Like It Is...

